Puerto Rico Municipios - Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods, Maps & Data


There are 78 county equivalent entities known as municipios in Puerto Rico.  All municipios are functioning governmental entities. 

There are 939 county subdivisions in Puerto Rico known as minor civil divisions (MCDs).  This includes 827 barrios, 75 barrios-pueblo, and 37 areas where subdivisions are undefined.  The barrios and barrios-pueblo are nonfunctioning county subdivisions used for election purposes.  Some MCDs are divided into sub-MCDs, which are called subbarrios.  There are 145 subbarrios.

Puerto Rico Municipios - Populated Places in 78 Municipios

Also see Municipio: Census Data | Physical, Cultural & Historical Features | ZIP Codes | Land, Farms, & Ranches


Puerto Rico Municipios Synopsis

The Puerto Rico Municipios section of the gazetteer lists the cities, towns, neighborhoods and subdivisions for each of the 78 Puerto Rico Municipios.

Also see Puerto Rico Municipio: ZIP Codes | Physical, Cultural & Historical Features | Census Data | Land, Farms, & Ranches

Nearby physical features such as streams, islands and lakes are listed along with maps and driving directions. The same is true for both historical features and cultural features such as hospitals, parks, schools and airports.

Each profile includes the current weather plus a seven day forecast. Note that for smaller populated places, the weather report may be for the nearest weather reporting station or airport.

The local information and data include economic and demographic data, census information and facts about the local environmental situation including such items as maps of flood zones, local sources of pollution, air quality indices and local areas where hazardous materials may be used or stored.

The complete category list for larger cities and towns includes: Arts & Culture, Census Data, Community Organizations, State and Local Government, Health & Medical, Newcomer Information, Local News Papers & Radio, Parks & Recreation, Pets & Hobbies, Schools & Libraries, Social Services, Travel and Tourism.